Sweetland. Part 2

This is the second time. He pulled up in the parking lot and I smiled. He didn’t.
“Why do you want me here. ”
“I….I miss you. ”
I’m sitting in the front seat of his car and we’re both looking directly ahead. He’s parked facing a wall.
Silence.

I finally spoke.
“I’m sorry.”
“That sure fixes it.”
“I wish things could be different.”
“Wishing is stupid. Why don’t you just find me a hot athletic girl to love me and go hiking with me.”
“I’m sorry I can’t give that to you.”
“I don’t want anything from you.”
Sigh. I look at him. He’s still looking at the wall. No emotion. I suddenly felt compelled to touch him. I wish he wouldn’t be so cold. I reach out to hug him. He hugs me back. We just hold each other for a bit. Then he pulls back.
“I have to go.”
“Of course.

Leave a Reply

