Day 15; Happiness

There are so many things I could write about right now..so much that’s been going on in my life that I’ve wanted to share and so many things that I’ve learnt recently. But the main and most important of these things is what’s kept me going this whole time.
My biggest problem is the constant pursuit of happiness. We all search for it, and most of the time in the wrong places. Some people convince themselves that they don’t deserve it, and others feel they can’t achieve it without some particular item or person in their life. Me? I searched for happiness in other people. I felt like without a relationship with the perfect guy, or without the perfect friends, I would never be happy. This need was the sole source of my own unhappiness.
The road you take and the choices you make mold who you are, and, based on who you’ve chosen to become, you may or may not resent life and everything that comes with it. My first step towards the light came when I decided to get to know myself. How can you fulfill the needs of someone you don’t know? I had to find out who was inside and what she needed and ever since that, I’ve been on the road to contentment. Am I happy with my life? Yes. Very much. Is it perfect? Far from.
I don’t have a boyfriend who says cute things and buys me presents, but I’m happy with my friends and family. I don’t have perfect friends, but the people I call friends are amazing and wonderful people who care for me. If you never learn to be content with what you have, you will never be happy. I’ve seen people live and love and share with so much less than I have…and I wonder how. Why do we complicate things that are so simple?
To truly be happy, you must choose to be happy. Whatever comes your way, you have to make a choice..will you sulk over it or will you get over it. Fix it or fuss about it. If you’re wrong, admit it, it you feel something say it. Regrets and malice and hate are feelings that come from you and will only hurt…you guessed it..you. I’ve learned to let go, smile and be happy, just because I can be. There’s no greater gift you can give to yourself than that.

Leave a Reply

